Release of Western Thriller “Devil’s Manhunt” Announced by Galaxy Press

Book publisher Galaxy Press releases thrilling western story “Devil’s Manhunt” by New York Times Bestselling author L. Ron Hubbard.

Hollywood, CA – April 13, 2011 (via — “Devil’s Manhunt” (L. Ron Hubbard, Galaxy Press), is the latest western in the series of Golden Age of Pulp Fiction classics. The titles are being released simultaneously in book format as well as an unabridged, multi-cast audio book with original music and state-of-the-art sound effects. The full cast audio version features Edoardo Ballerini, Bob Caso, R.F. Daley, Jim Meskimen, Phil Proctor, Richard Rocco, Tait Ruppert, Josh R. Thompson and Michael Yurchak.

Originally published in 1950, “The Devil’s Manhunt” ( ) tells the story of Tim Beckdolt, a man who strikes gold and is on the brink of a new life – until a killer forces him at gunpoint to mine it – jumping his claim. Tim manages to escape, but soon finds himself being pursued like an animal in a bloodthirsty manhunt through vicious terrain.

Also included in this volume are the western stories, “Johnny the Town Tamer” and “A Stranger in Town”. In these stories, Hubbard creates extraordinary but still relatable characters that sweep the reader through rugged landscapes, with outlaws aplenty in a dramatic and cunning fight for survival and justice.

Stories from the Golden Age is a series of 80 volumes, containing 153 of L. Ron Hubbard’s stories – released in both paperback format using original pulp artwork and interior illustrations, as well as multicast audio books. These powerful stories have been brought to life by Hollywood publisher, Galaxy Press. ( )

Hubbard’s writing career spanned five decades, with 19 New York Times bestsellers and over 230 million copies of his works sold. Science Fiction Grand Master Anne McCaffrey (Dragonriders of Pern series) wrote, “The fascinating thing to me is that L. Ron Hubbard’s stories, first published fifty to sixty years ago, are not dated in style, content or language. They are as fresh and interesting for times right now as they were when he conceived them.”

America’s Golden Age produced great writers of Western fiction such as Zane Grey, Louis L’Amour and A.B. Guthrie. But Hubbard was not only proficient with western tales, he was a master of all popular genres, including adventure, mystery, detective, science fiction, fantasy and even some romance, using his own and 15 pen names.

Such was the respect of his fellow writers, including Edgar Rice Burroughs, Raymond Chandler and Dashiell Hammett, that he was only twenty-five when he was elected president of the New York chapter of the American Fiction Guild.

For more information, visit

About Stories From the Golden Age:
Stories From the Golden Age is a line of 80 books and multi-cast, unabridged audio books, featuring 153 stories written by L. Ron Hubbard in the 1930s and 1940s in any of the several popular genres of the day – mystery, thriller, adventure, science fiction, fantasy and western – with tales appropriate for all ages from middle school and up. The cover art for the complete available library is displayed in the iBookstore and purchasing is a breeze on the new iPad. The eBooks are also available at, and on the Stories from the Golden Age website at

Press Contact:
John Goodwin
Galaxy Press
7051 Hollywood Blvd.
Suite 200
Hollywood, CA
(323) 466-7815

# # #

Please contact for corrections or to update this press release.

My Press Releases

[display-frm-data id=5]